COMMISSIONER EVALUATION COMMITTEE MINUTES OCTOBER 16, 2014

- I. CALL TO ORDER ASCERTAIN A QUORUM Chair Allyson Morrow called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m. in the conference room of the Credit Union Department Austin, Texas, and declared that a quorum was present. The other members present were Sherri Merket, Rob Kyker, Gary Tuma, Vik Vad and Commission Chairman Manny Cavazos, ex-officio member. Other members present included Gary Janacek, and Kay Stewart. Representing the Department staff were Harold E. Feeney, Commissioner; and Isabel Velasquez, Executive Assistant. Mrs. Morrow appointed Isabel Velasquez as recording secretary and announced that under Chapter 551.074 of the Government Code the Committee would enter into executive session to discuss personnel issues related to the Commissioner's Annual Performance Review.
- II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PRIOR MEETING (October 18, 2013). Mr. Kyker moved to approve the minutes of October 18, 2013 as presented. Mr. Vad seconded the motion, and the motion was unanimously adopted.

Assistant Attorney General Joe Thrash arrived at 2:04 p.m.

III. EXECUTIVE SESSION – PERSONNEL ISSUES – Mrs. Morrow stated that the Committee would be entering into Executive Session as provided under Section 551.074 of the Government Code for the purpose of discussing personnel issues related to finalizing the proposed annual performance evaluation for the commissioner. The Committee entered into Executive Session at 2:06 p.m., and reconvened in open session at 3:00 p.m.

Commission Member John Yoggerst arrived at 3:00 p.m.

III. NEW BUSINESS

Discussion, Consideration and Possible Vote to Recommend that the

Credit Union Commission Approve Proposed Changes to the FY 2015

Performance Targets, Evaluation Form, and Remuneration for the

Commissioner. After a short discussion, Mr. Vad made a motion that the

Committee approve the FY 2015 performance evaluation form as is and that the

Committee meet sometime between now and January to discuss potential changes

to the evaluation form for FY 2016. Mr. Tuma seconded the motion and the

motion was unanimously adopted.

After a brief discussion, Mr. Tuma made a motion that the Committee

recommend to the Commission that the commissioner's salary be increased by 7%

to reflect performance and an adjustment to bring the salary closer to the current

market level. Mrs. Merket seconded the motion and the motion passed on a 3 to 1

vote with Rob Kyker voted no.

ADJOURNMENT - There being no other business to come before the

committee, Ms. Morrow reminded everyone that our next Committee meeting will

be at the call of the chair later this year. The meeting was adjourned at 3:07 p.m.

Allyson Morrow Chair Isabel Velasquez Recording Secretary

Distribution:

Legislative Reference Library