
222.1 
 

 

CREDIT UNION DEPARTMENT 
POLICY 
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HOLIDAYS; EMERGENCY, ADMINISTRATIVE,  
AND OTHER PAID LEAVE 

 
 
UPOLICY 
 
The Department honors holiday, annual, sick and other leave benefits granted by the State of Texas to 
staff.  This policy outlines the holiday and leave benefits provided by the Department to its staff.  Eligible 
staff are entitled to request and be considered for leave as described in this policy.  Accountability for 
this paid time off is the responsibility of the staff member and the supervisor. 
 
 
UHOLIDAY LEAVE 
 
Department holidays are established by the Texas Legislature.  The State of Texas authorizes certain 
holidays for state employees but stipulates that state agencies can only observe holidays that fall on a 
weekday.  If a holiday falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, state agencies cannot observe it on a different 
day such as the previous Friday or the following Monday. 
 
A full-time staff member will receive eight hours of holiday leave time for each recognized holiday; 
part-time staff will receive a proportionate amount of leave time.  Example: a staff member who works 
20 hours per week will receive four hours of holiday leave time.  In addition, a full-time staff member 
who is on FMLA and is working a reduced schedule will receive a proportionate amount of holiday leave 
time. 
 
Flex-time staff who are scheduled to work more than 8 hours on any given day as part of their normal 
Flex-time  will receive eight hours of leave time. Staff will have to use Comp Time or Annual Leave to 
make up for the difference in hours.  Example: a full-time staff member who normally works 9-hour 
days Monday through Thursday is scheduled to be off on Thursday, a recognized holiday.  The staff 
member takes off as allowed on Thursday.  Eight holiday leave hours are allowed to be charged on 
Thursday and the staff member will have to use one hour of annual leave (or other appropriate leave) to 
account for 40 hours that week; or, with supervisor permission, work a different schedule so that the 
staff member will not have to use leave time.  Ultimately, there must be 40 hours accounted for each 
week in the CAPPS timesheet for full time staff. 
 
Full-time staff members who work on a recognized holiday will be compensated for working on that day 
with eight hours of holiday comp time; part-time staff will receive a proportionate amount of leave time.  
Supervisors and staff members will work together to allow staff members to use earned holiday comp 
time within 12 months from the week when it was earned. 
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Staff members may use appropriate leave (annual, compensatory time, etc.) to observe Rosh Hashanah, 
Yom Kippur, Good Friday, or any other religious holy days not recognized as a federal or state holiday.  
Time off for religious observance of any of these days must be requested and approved in advance.  
 
An individual must be a state employee in paid status on the workday before and after a recognized 
holiday to be paid for that holiday, unless the holiday falls on the staff member’s first or last workday of 
the month. 
 
UFederal Holidays 
 

New Year's Day January 1 
Martin Luther King, Jr., Day  Third Monday in January 
Presidents’ Day Third Monday in February 
Memorial Day Last Monday in May 
Independence Day July 4 
Labor Day First Monday in September 
Veterans Day November 11 
Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November 
Additional Thanksgiving Day Day after Thanksgiving 
Christmas Eve December 24 
Christmas Day December 25 
Additional Christmas Day December 26 

 
UOptional Holidays 

An optional holiday is a state-defined holiday that an employee may take in lieu of a regular state or 
federal holiday.  Those days are as follows: 

Rosh Hashanah  
Yom Kippur  
Good Friday 
Cesar Chavez Day March 31  

 
(May take in lieu of any other State holiday falling on a weekday other than a day on which a statewide 
election is held.) 

 
An employee desiring to observe one of these optional holidays must make arrangements and obtain 
approval with management in advance. 
 
Optional Holiday information is located in 34T UGovernment Code CHAPTER 662. HOLIDAYS AND 
RECOGNITION DAYS, WEEKS, AND MONTHS, SUBCHAPTER A. HOLIDAYS FOR STATE 
EMPLOYEES, Sec. 662.006.  OPTIONAL HOLIDAYU34T. 
 
State Skeleton Holidays 
 
The Department’s Offices remain open on dates known as “skeleton holidays.”  The Department allows 
employees working on a skeleton holiday, compensatory time off during the six-month period following 
the date of the holiday worked.  State skeleton holidays are designated as follows: 
 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.662.htm#662.006
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.662.htm#662.006
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.662.htm#662.006
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Confederate Heroes Day January 19 
Texas Independence Day March 2 
San Jacinto Day April 21 
Emancipation Day June 19 
Lyndon Baines Johnson Day August 27 

 
If a skeleton day holiday falls on a weekend the Department does not grant comp time leave. 
 
 
ANNUAL LEAVE 
 
The State of Texas set the monthly annual leave accrual rate and the maximum number of annual leave 
hours that a staff member may roll into the next fiscal year, based on that staff member’s years of service.  
Any annual leave hours above the established limit at fiscal year-end will transfer to the staff member’s 
sick leave balance. 
 
A staff member may use annual leave after he/she has been employed by the State of Texas for six 
continuous months.  An individual only needs to meet this requirement once during their state service.  
This means that if you satisfy the six-month-eligibility requirement, leave state employment and are later 
rehired, the staff member will not have to wait six months again to begin using their leave.  Also, if a 
staff member is on any type of paid leave on the first day of the month, the accrual will be credited for 
that month, but it won’t be available to use until the staff member has returned to work. 
 
A staff member must have a supervisor’s prior approval to take annual leave.  Vacation leave taken must 
be recorded in hours.  When recording Annual Leave time in CAPPS that is less than a whole hour, it 
must be rounded off to quarters of an hour, i.e., fifteen (15) minutes = 0.25 hours, thirty (30) minutes = 
0.50 hours, or forty-five (45) minutes = 0.75 hours. 
 
In computing annual leave time taken, a recognized holiday falling during a staff member’s annual leave 
period will not be charged against annual leave (eight hours of holiday leave time).  Illness occurring 
during an employee’s scheduled time off may be charged against sick leave and will not be charged 
against annual leave or compensatory time, if  the staff member sees a physician and presents a 
physician’s statement for the visit. 
 
When a staff member leaves the Department, if they have been employed by the Department or another 
State of Texas agency for at least six continuous months, the staff member will receive a lump-sum 
payment for any annual leave not used.  After the Department has processed the paperwork, the staff 
member will receive his/her payment via direct deposit to an account previously designated by the staff 
member.  Staff members that transfer directly from the Department to another state agency will carry 
forward their balance of annual leave. 
 
 
SICK LEAVE 
 
The State of Texas provides paid time off to eligible staff in the event of a personal illness or injury of 
the staff member or an immediate family member, and to allow the staff member to attend appointments 
with his or her health care provider or that of an immediate family member.  Immediate family is defined 
pursuant to 34TTexas Government Code, Section 661.202(e)34T; and 34TState Auditor’s Office Leave 
Interpretation Letter, No. 97-04 (1996)34T. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.202
http://www.hr.sao.texas.gov/Resources/LeaveInvestigation/
http://www.hr.sao.texas.gov/Resources/LeaveInvestigation/
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Sick leave may be used only for a documented medical condition to care for immediate family members 
who do not reside in the same household.  In this instance only, “immediate family” is interpreted as 
spouse, parent, or child.   
 
A staff member receives sick leave accrual on their first day of employment and on the first day of every 
month after.  A full-time staff member will receive eight hours of sick leave for each month or fraction 
of a month; part-time staff will receive a proportionate amount of sick leave.  Example: a staff member 
who works 20 hours per week will receive four hours of sick leave. 
 
A staff member is eligible to use sick leave after their first day of employment.  To request sick leave, 
follow the Department’s time off procedures.  When an absence from work is caused by a staff member’s 
medical condition, a physician’s statement is required and should be submitted to a staff member’s 
supervisor when a staff member is out for three or more consecutive days.  The physician’s statement 
should be submitted either before or on the staff member’s return to work date. 
 
NOTE: Texas law provides that a staff member may choose to use all or any number of hours of accrued 
annual leave after the staff member’s accrued sick leave is exhausted 
 
Sick leave is paid out only in the event of a staff member’s death.  If a staff member has at least six 
months of continuous state service, upon their death their estate will receive payment for half of the staff 
member’s sick leave balance up to 336 hours. 
 
A staff member may donate sick leave to another leave eligible employee working at the Department if 
the recipient has exhausted their own sick leave accrual, including any time the recipient may be eligible 
to withdraw from the Sick Leave Pool program.  Unlike accrued sick leave, donated sick leave is not 
eligible for transfer to another state agency or for payment to an estate upon death of the recipient. 
 

∗ The current balances for all available leave are visible in the employee’s individual timesheet in 
CAPPS. 

 
 
EMERGENCY LEAVE 
 
The Texas Legislature has provided the Department with authority to grant emergency leave under 
certain conditions.  There are four types of emergency leave: funeral (EMGDT), jury duty, court 
subpoenas, and emergency leave (EMGNY). 
 
Funeral 
 
The Department shall grant leave with pay for a death in the staff member’s family.  A general guideline 
for funeral leave is a period not to exceed three (3) consecutive working days.  The Commissioner may 
grant two (2) additional days of leave if the staff member must travel out-of-state for the funeral.  
If additional leave is needed, the employee must use annual or compensatory leave accruals.  For the 
purposes of this policy, “family” has the meaning assigned by 34TTEX. GOV’T. CODE §661.902(a)34T and 
includes the employee’s spouse, the employee’s and the spouse’s parents, children, brothers, sisters, 
grandparents and grandchildren. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
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Jury Duty 
 
Staff members are entitled to serve on a jury without any deduction in pay.  Staff members who receive 
a notice to report for jury duty should inform their supervisor as soon as possible to allow the Department 
to make necessary adjustments for the anticipated absence.  Staff member will receive paid leave for the 
time they cannot work to fulfill their jury duty obligation.  Unless excused by their supervisor, staff 
members are expected to report to work as soon as they are excused from jury duty to complete the time 
remaining in their workday.  Staff members may keep any fee or compensation received for jury duty 
without any offset to their department earnings and are not required to account to the state for any such 
fee or compensation received.  An official statement by a court official is required for documentation.* 
Jury duty hours are recorded in CAPPS using the REGHR TRC with a comment indicating “Jury Duty.”  
 

∗ When an employee receives a jury summons and jury duty hours are being recorded in CAPPS, 
a copy must be sent to the Staff Services Officer to place in the employee’s personnel file. 

 
Court Subpoena 
 
The Department shall grant paid leave when a staff member is subpoenaed to appear in a civil, legislative, 
or administrative proceeding in an official capacity for the department or as an expert witness.  The staff 
member subpoenaed must provide their supervisor with advance notice and a copy of the subpoena is 
required for documentation. 
 
A staff member must use annual, compensatory time, etc. to appear in court for personal reasons. 
 
Other Good Cause 
 
Under 34TTEX. GOV’T CODE § Section 661.902 (b)34T, the Commissioner may also grant emergency leave 
during a state of emergency declared by the Governor, or in other emergency situations when, in his/her 
determination, good cause is shown for such leave.  The commissioner, however, may not grant 
emergency leave to any staff member unless the staff member intends to return to the agency, as a staff 
member, upon expiration of the emergency leave. 
 
Inclement Weather 
 
The Department recognizes that adverse weather conditions can impact Department operations.  While 
the Department is committed to the safety and security of staff, its practice is to remain open and to 
conduct business as usual during periods of inclement weather, except as noted in this policy.  Unless 
otherwise directed, all staff are expected to make reasonable efforts to get to work at their regular time 
on a scheduled workday.  If a staff member believes she/he cannot commute safely between his/her home 
and place of work during periods of inclement weather, the staff member is required to notify his/her 
supervisor and use either annual or compensatory leave time. 
 
Should inclement weather conditions arise or be anticipated that would temporarily (less than a day) 
make travel to work inadvisable, the office will follow the late (delayed) start schedule of Austin 
Independent School District (AISD).  If a staff member’s home is located in a different school district 
which has a different late (delayed) start from AISD, the employee will be granted emergency leave 
based on whichever late (delayed) start is longer.  Inclement weather for field staff will be based on 
either the late (delayed) start of the credit union or the school district from which the staff member 
departs to conduct examination or other work activities. 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.661.htm#661.902
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On the rare occasion that AISD makes a weather-related decision to close for an entire day or when an 
extremely severe weather conditions arise or be anticipated that would make travel to work unsafe for 
the majority of the day, a determination will be made by the Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner as 
to whether to keep the office closed for the day or have a late (delayed) opening.  Communication of any 
such decision will be made utilizing text messages, e-mails, or telephone calls as prescribed in the 
Department’s continuity of operation plan. 
 
Any necessary inclement weather emergency leave only applies to staff actually scheduled to work in 
(or depart from) an area affected by inclement weather.  Staff who are not impacted by the inclement 
weather or who have scheduled other leave time for a workday or are off as part of their Flex Schedule 
in which inclement weather emergency leave is granted will not receive additional leave for the 
inclement weather. 
 
Weather and road conditions are not the same in every area where staff live, so the decision as to whether 
it is safe to travel must ultimately rest with each individual.  Staff members are urged to use discretion in 
deciding whether they can safely commute to and from work.  If personal health or safety is an issue in 
that decision, responsible judgment should be used.  Staff members will be allowed to use annual or 
compensatory leave when they reasonably believe that travel will be dangerous because of the hazardous 
road conditions and the applicable school district did not declare a late start or closure for the day. 
 
The Department may remain open while public schools and local child care centers close due to weather.  
Supervisors are encouraged to recognize the difficulties this creates for working parents by responding 
with as much flexibility as the particular work environment allows.  If this situation occurs and a staff 
member is not able to report to work, he/she is required to notify his/her supervisor and must use either 
annual or compensatory leave for any time not covered by inclement weather emergency leave. 
 
General  
 
Under 34TTEX. GOV’T CODE § 662.01034T, employees who are on emergency leave are considered to be in a 
paid leave status.  Therefore, they are eligible for holiday pay if a holiday occurs during the time they are 
on emergency leave. 
 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE WITH PAY 

Administrative leave with pay is a non-monetary reward given to recognize outstanding performance 
that consistently exceeds expected or required productivity or exceptional contributions by employees 
performing special projects of significant importance. 

Generally, Texas law provides that: 
• Up to 32 hours of administrative leave may be granted to any staff member per fiscal year; 
• Administrative leave may be granted only in four or eight-hour increments; and 
• Administrative leave should be taken within 12 months of the grant of the award. 

 
A staff member may request to use earned administrative leave through normal departmental procedures.  
Administrative leave may not be converted to any other type of leave, may not be transferred or paid 
should the staff member end his/her employment relationship with the Department, and may not be paid 
to the estate of a deceased staff member. 
 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.662.htm#662.010


222.7 
 

MILITARY LEAVE 
 
Military leave provides employment protection, income protection and a means for staff members to 
secure time off when called to uniformed U.S. military service.  A staff member may receive full pay 
for up to 15 work days in any federal fiscal year (October 1—September 30) for authorized training or 
duty in the National Guard or armed forces reserves.  The days need not be consecutive.  The Uniformed 
Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 requires all staff members to provide the 
Department with advance notice of military service and this policy requires a copy of the orders be 
provided to the supervisor. 
 
After exhausting the fifteen (15) business days of paid military leave, eligible staff members are entitled 
to unpaid extended military leave under the following conditions: 
 

• As members of the United States Armed Forces reserve components called to active duty during 
a national emergency or 

• As members of the state military forces, the United States Armed Forces reserve components, or 
the United States Armed Forces leaving a department position to enter active military service. 

 
 
VOTING LEAVE 
 
Staff members may be allowed sufficient time off to vote in national, state, and local elections.  Staff 
members should notify their supervisor prior to the election day if they do not have sufficient time to 
vote on their own time.  Supervisors may schedule voting leave by allowing the staff member to: 

• arrive to work later than normally scheduled in order to allow enough time to vote before the 
workday; 

• leave work early without the expectation to return in order to allow sufficient time to vote; or 
• take a longer lunch than is normally scheduled in order to vote. 

 
Paid voting leave should be used by staff members in instances where the staff member actually missed 
work to vote without making up the time.  The time off should be reasonable and as agreed to in advance 
upon consultation with the staff member's supervisor.  This leave type is not intended to use for early 
voting.  Early voting enables a staff member to vote before or after work (including weekends) prior to 
an election.  If a staff member has been unable to vote during the early voting period, time off to vote on 
Election Day will be allowed. 
 
 
STATE COMPENSATORY TIME (LEAVE) 
 
The State of Texas provides that staff members earn state compensatory time when the total number of 
hours recorded on the weekly timesheet as worked plus the total number of hours of paid leave or paid 
holidays exceeds 40 hours in one workweek.  State compensatory time is earned after the time for the 
entire workweek is recorded.  State compensatory time is earned on a straight time, hour for hour, basis. 
State compensatory time can be earned by both exempt and non-exempt staff members. 
 
A staff member may earn state compensatory time for work performed only at his or her regular or 
temporarily assigned work site.  A staff member’s personal residence may be considered the regular or 
temporarily assigned work site and he or she may earn state compensatory time for work performed at 
such residence, subject to normal departmental procedures. 
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With prior supervisory approval, staff members who are assigned projects that exceed normal 
expectations and have specific due dates may earn state compensatory time for time spent working on 
the project in order to meet the due date. 
 
Loss of Unused State Compensatory Time Balances 
 
Under state law, an employee must use state compensatory time, including holiday compensatory time, 
within the 12 months following the end of the workweek in which it was earned, or it lapses. 
 
Reporting 
 
Not later than October 1 of each year, the agency shall report to the comptroller the name and position 
for each employee granted more than 32 hours of emergency leave during the previous fiscal year.  The 
report will include the reason for the emergency leave, the total number of emergency leave hours 
granted to the employee. 
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