Commission Members

The Credit Union Commission is responsible for overseeing the activities of the Credit Union Department and serves as the primary point of accountability for ensuring that state credit unions function as a system.  The nine-member Commission derives its authority from Chapter 15 of the Texas Finance Code.

The Commission is a board of private citizens appointed by and responsible to the Governor of Texas.  Four members of the Commission must be individuals who serve as a director, officer or committee member of a Texas state credit union or a federal credit union with a principal office in Texas. The remaining five members of the Commission are representatives from the general public. Each member of the Commission must be a resident of a different state senatorial district. Commission members and their spouses may not  be employed by, participate in the management of, or have a financial interest in a financial institution or related trade association.
You may reach the Credit Union Commission members at the Credit Union Department’s mailing address.

    Yusuf E. Farran, P.E., Chair

    Public Member

    Term:  July 16, 2015 – February 15, 2021
    Hometown:  El Paso, Texas

    Mr. Farran is a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Texas and a LEED Green Associate. He has been practicing civil/mechanical engineering since 1986 and currently serves as an Energy Solutions Engineer with Johnson Controls in Fort Bliss in El Paso, Texas. He is responsible for managing Measurements and Verification programs to monitor and manage energy consumption, utility supply and facility operations and maintenance at Fort Bliss Army Base.

        Sherri Brannon Merket, Vice Chair

        Public Member

        Term: April 15, 2011 – February 15, 2023
        Hometown: Midland, Texas

        Mrs. Merket has served for the last 11 years as the Executive Secretary of the Hillander School, a private elementary school in Midland, Texas. She and her husband also own and operate an oilfield company, pipe supply business, and have farming and ranching interests. She is a member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas and is actively involved with the Texas Humane Legislative Network. .

            Beckie Stockstill Cobb

            Public Member

            Term: July 16, 2015 – February 15, 2021
            Hometown:  Deer Park, Texas

            Mrs. Stockstill opened Stockstill & Associates in January, 1999 with over 20 years of banking experience, FINRA 6 and 63 securities registrations.  She is an active member of the Houston Association of Health Underwriters, NAIFA, NAHU and TAHU.  Credentialed as a Small Business Consultant, Chartered Benefit Consultant, as well as in Senior Benefits.

                Steven “Steve” Gilman

                Credit Union Industry Member

                Term: July 16, 2015 – February 15, 2021
                Hometown: Katy, Texas

                Mr. Gilman, retired CEO from the Houston Texas Fire Fighters Federal Credit Union. Currently he is the Director of Political Advocacy & Community Relations for First Service Credit Union in Houston, Texas.

                    Elizabeth L. “Liz” Bayless

                    Public member

                    Term:  April 25 – February 15, 2025
                    Hometown:  Austin, Texas

                    Mrs. Bayless of Austin is retired as the executive vice president of the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation. She is a volunteer for Foundation Communities and a former volunteer for Austin Habitat for Humanity and Capital Area Food Bank. Additionally, she is a former member of the Texas Mortgage Bankers Association.

                        James L. “Jim” Minge

                        Credit Union Industry Member

                        Term: May 21, 2017 – June 15, 2023
                        Hometown: Arlington, Texas

                        Mr. Minge is President and CEO of Texas Trust Credit Union. He is a member of the Texas State Society of Public Accountants and the Fort Worth Chapter of the Texas State Society of Public Accountants.

                            Karyn C. Brownlee

                            Public Member

                            Term:  August 8,2019 – February 15, 2023
                            Hometown:  Coppell, Texas

                            Mrs. Brownlee is a leadership communications consultant and former school principal in the Coppell ISD. As a member of the Texas Elementary Principals & Supervisors Association, she was a conference presenter and leadership academy graduate.

                                David F. Shurtz

                                Credit Union Industry Member

                                Term: August 8, 2019 – February 15, 2025
                                Hometown: Hudson Oaks, Texas

                                Mr. Shurtz is the Chief Risk Officer and General Counsel of EECU in Fort Worth, Texas. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas and a volunteer for Junior Achievement, Cook Children’s Radiothan, and Tarrant County Meals on Wheels.

                                    Kay Rankin-Swan

                                    Credit Union Industry Member

                                    Term: August 8, 2019 – February 15, 2025
                                    Hometown: Monahans, Texas

                                    Mrs. Rankin-Swan is the President and CEO of Ward County Credit Union. She is a member of the Monahans Chamber of Commerce and treasurer and member of the Monahans Lions Club.

                                      Events Calendar
                                      • Agency Closed, February 21, 2022 – Presidents’ Day
                                      • 9:00 am 12:00 pm, March 11, 2022 – Commission Meeting
                                      • Agency Closed, May 30, 2022 – Memorial Day
                                      • 9:00 am 12:00 pm, June 10, 2022 – Commission Meeting
                                      • Agency Closed, July 4, 2022 – Independence Day
                                      • 9:00 am 12:00 pm, September 16, 2022 – Commission Meeting